Swami Vivekananda Medical Mission

Inauguration of new hospital floor by Hon'ble Minister of Tribal Affairs

The second floor of the hospital building was inaugurated by Sri Arjun Munda, Hon’ble Union Minister of Tribal Affairs. The floor has facilities like Newborn ICU, Medical ICU, new Maternity ward, Doctors’ and nurses duty rooms and private rooms. The facilities were built with a major support from Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd. The project was also supported by Bradken India Pvt. Ltd., Roots Group of Companies, Sewa Canada, Kalyan Silks, Suman Jewellers and family of Srimathi Indra Sairam. The equipment and furniture for the second floor was donated by TATA Elxsi Ltd . The NICU was equipped with additional support from KIMS Health, Thiruvananthapuram. The other dignitaries present on the occasion were Sri V.K. Sreekantan , MP(Palakkad), Srimathi Vanathi Sreenivasan MLA ( Coimbatore South), Srimathi Jaya IAS, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Sri Gopalkrishna Agarwal (Independent Director, BPCL), Swami Jnanamruthananda Puri ( Mata Amrithanandamayi Math), Sri A. Gopalakrishnan (All India Samyojak, Seemajagaran Manch), Sri Vineeth Varghese (Chief Manager, CSR and PR, BPCL), Sri Ranjith MK (Company Secretary, Bradken India Pvt Ltd), Srimathi Reshmi Ayesha ( CEO, CSR, KIMS Hospital). The function was attended by more than 2000 tribal people from about 120 tribal villages. More than 500 invited guests from Kerala and Tamil Nadu also graced the function.

All tribal village heads (mooppans) were honoured by the senior trustees by handing over a memento and shawl. Sri A.S. Madhava Warrier, Managing Trustee of Warrier Foundation was honoured for his contribution to society by setting up welfare institutions. Five achievers from the tribal community were honoured by the Hon’ble minister. They are Srimathi Nanji Amma ( National Film Award Winner for Best Female Singer), Dr. Chandran( Doctorate in medicinal chemistry from National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education and Research, Rae Bareli), Kumari Keerthana (District Champion in Javelin throw), Kumari R. Manjima (BA in Mohiniyattam from Sree Sankara University,Kalady), Adv. Kanaka (Completed LLB from Cochin University after BBA). Our donors for the project Sri Vineeth Varghese ( BPCL), Ranjith MK (Bradken India ), Srimathi Reshmi Ayesha (KIMS Health), Sri Naren Sairam, Sri Sivaraman Mahadevan, Sri K. Ravi ( Roots) were honoured by the trust at the function. Rtn. Ramesh Chandrakumar (President), Rtn Gokul Krishnan and Rtn Balaji from Rotary Club of Coimbatore Sai City, Rtn Aswinikumar (President) and Rtn Arunachalam (Secretary) from Rotary Club of Coimbatore Central were honoured for their sustained support to the trust for tribal development. Dr. Sasidharan (Regional Deputy Director) and Sri M.A. Suraj (Senior Consultant) from National Medicinal Plant Board (RCFC-SR) were also honoured for their technical support to the medicinal plants cultivation project. The Buy-Back-Agreement executed by Ayurveda Pharma companies to tribal farmers for buying medicinal plant products cultivated as part of NABARD supported Tribal Development Fund (TDF) were handed over to the office bearers of Project Tribal Development Committee (PTDC). Officials of Ayurveda Pharmacies: Vaidyaratnam, Thrissur, Artha Herbs and Derivatives India Pvt. Ltd and Aryavaidyasala, Kottakkal handed over the MoUs to Srimathi Pappa ( President) and Srimathi Ponni (Secretary) of PTDC.